Me / Random Ramblings

Our Deepest Fear

2

Today whilst writing an article for a website I’m working on with 2 friends, Your Student Body, I’ve been thinking about what inspires me.  Being an athlete, (and wannabe writer) there are a lot of things that inspire me, movies, quotes and motivational speeches tend to be up there on most inspirational. I recently watched the movie “Invictus”, (I don’t know if you have seen it, if not, watch it, it’s an amazing movie) there’s a scene in the movie from Nelson Mandela, played by Morgan Freeman, where he is talking to rugby captain, Francois Pienaar, about how he inspires his team to be their best, Piernaar replies saying he leads by example, which we would all agree with BUT Mandela replies with an amazing response that will stay with me forever.
“Well, that is right. That is exactly right. But how do we get them to be better than they think they CAN be? That is very difficult, I find. Inspiration, perhaps. How do we inspire ourselves to greatness when nothing less will do? How do we inspire everyone around us? I sometimes think it is by using the work of others.”

So with that, here is one of my most inspirational movie speeches, from the movie, Coach Carter. Enjoy! (wait for the speech after the basketball part, (0.56 secs) it’s worth it!)

Leave a Reply

