In the beginning / Me

For The First Time…I Knew Nothing!

I spoke to a friend today on Skype for the first time in months. We’ve been good friends since we were teens and although we live far apart (we both live in France now, strangely enough, she’s in the north and I’m south) and don’t speak as often as we’d like, a text here and there, every time we talk we fall back into our friendship like we hadn’t had the time apart. We talk to each other like it was yesterday. Its so refreshing that we can do that, she really is so special to me, we’ve shared happy and tough times together so its natural that we fall back into our old familiar ways of talking to each other. Anyway, when we were chatting, it was lovely, she doesn’t have Facebook or Twitter or anything like that so for the first time in a long time, I was genuinely excited and happy to hear everything she had been up to for the past few months. That doesn’t happen often, does it? She has a new baby who I hadn’t seen, he’s adorable, her other 2 kids were chatting so much more than before, so grown up. I hadn’t seen pictures of them, heard stories, nothing. Everything she was saying was news. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love her to get Facebook so I could see her more often BUT there was something wonderful about chatting and not know what was coming next!

Do you have any friends you don’t keep in contact with that often who fall into place like they hadn’t been gone? Do you keep in contact daily/weekly/monthly with your close friends and like to know what’s going on in their lives?

P.S. Love ya lady! (even though I know you won’t read this!!)

 

(image)

2 thoughts on “For The First Time…I Knew Nothing!

  1. Last month I met a friend I hadn’t seen or talked to in eleven years. He studied in my country, in my town, we were very good friends for about two years, then he went back to his country. Eleven year ago I didn’t have a cell phone or email adress, internet was just getting into my country. So we’ve lost touch completely. I simply forgot he exists during all these years. Last month, he came for a short visit and he asked around about me. I live in small town so it was easy for him to find someone that knew my number. He called me and we decided to meet one evening. But half an hour later I bumped into him on the street. We talked for an hour as if we last met the day before. It was the most amazing feeling I had lately regarding friendship. I know that true friends can pick it up from where they left it, but not to feel an eleven years gap in conversation is outstanding. Now, we won’t lose touch again. We have facebook and skype and viber and wassap and email:)

    • What a wonderful story. It really is amazing how easily you can pick up with someone you have shared such important, special times in your life with.
      Lots of wonderful catching up to do! I hope you stay in touch and make new memories together!
      thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

