Me

Just Listen.

“If I should have a Daughter” by Sarah Kay

Today I discovered Sarah Kay, thanks to Jess at I Rock So What. Just like Jess, I lost hours looking at Sarah’s poetry on YouTube.

I’m an aspiring poet, by no means would I call myself one, but listening to Sarah Kay, I’m reminded that my words are my own and they are wonderful in their own right, even if they are just for me.

This poem “If I should have a Daughter” brought me to tears, its everything I want to share with my daughter as she grows up in this world.

(image)

One more…

“Hands” by Sarah Kay

Who are some of your favourite poets?

3 thoughts on “Just Listen.

  1. Thank you for sharing! I love that line… beautiful! So simple but very thoughtful. Really great. I still love Dr. Seuss poems. They are quirky, child like yet so uplifting. I’m big on quotes from people in pop culture. My favorite is Marilyn Monroe. If you read some of her quotes, which remind me a bit of poems, it’s easy to see how misunderstood she was; they are deep and clever.
    “I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right, you believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”
    ― Marilyn Monroe
    “Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.”
    ― Marilyn Monroe
    Those are my favorites. Do you remember the “poetry song” from 1999 by Baz Luhrmann? It was called Everybody’s Free To Wear Sunscreen. I didn’t get it back then, but listening to it now makes my eyes well up… and I am not a crier! It was on the radio constantly.

    • Megan, I do remember “everybody’s free to wear sunscreen” I loved it then and love it now. I was 18 when it was first released, I was quite reflective then and listened to every word, sure that the words in the song were speaking to me. Age 31, I can still apply a lot of those words to my life now. “the most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they
      wanted to do with their lives, some of the most interesting 40 year olds I know still don’t.” I wrote a blog not long ago called “My name is Louise and I’m a….” about exactly this issue! Do you even think Baz Luhrman knew he would be so relevant today?
      I’m with you on the Marilyn Monroe quotes, I have heard both and didn’t know they were from her.
      I’ll have to check out Dr Seuss though, my friends in the US grew up with him but in the UK we didnt really watch him too much…I’ll let you know how I get on!
      Thanks for stopping by

      Louise xo

      • Anytime I’m down I listen to that song/poem and it cheers me up. It really is amazing how the themes from it hit home with teens today and those who originally heard it back in 1999. It is a song that will always be relevant, which is pretty amazing.

        You definitely should get some Dr. Seuss books for your daughter. They are really fun, short and sweet. My Dad read them to me constantly as a child. They are perfect for a kid her age. in fact Where The Sidewalk Ends and A Light In The Attic are also great children’s poetry that is fun for adults as well. I really think she’d enjoy Dr. Seuss. most kids love his stories. They are just so fun.

Leave a Reply

