In the beginning / Music / Our Life Now / Random Ramblings

What’s in a song?

This week as well as supporting Mr McGivern in his Olympic matches, I have to spend a little time picking 12 songs that will play during our wedding, and since Mark and I have totally different taste in music this is proving quite difficult for me. We obviously have “our” songs but I want to save those for our first dance and the reception, our DJ is amazingly talented so will incorporate our tastes perfectly on the night. I’m a pop/country music and rap/R’n’B fan and Mark likes a lot of Brit pop/cool music.
One of the first times Mark and I hung out as a couple, (before that we were just work colleagues) we were lying on the couch in my apartment, listening to some music…first song that came on, the amazing Eve “Gansta bitch”, second song, Rascal Flatts “Bless the Broken Road”. I knew at that moment, if Mark was still lying beside me after all the songs had finished, he was a keeper, he’s still beside me after all these years…and in 15 days we’ll be married!

Do you and your partner/husband/boyfriend have the same taste in music? Does it matter if you don’t have? For some people its a deal breaker but for me, its not so important, I mean, we agree on the important stuff, so that’s all that matters, right?

Now, I’m off to work on those songs…enjoy the rest of your day!

3 thoughts on “What’s in a song?

  1. Pingback: The Best | Coming Home Soon

Leave a Reply

