Me / Our Life Now / Random Ramblings

Hi, I’m Louise and I am a ??

I wrote a blog a week or so ago “When I grow up…” about what job I wanted to do when I grew up and the opportunities my daughter has today. Whilst writing it I got to thinking about my life now , and I’ll be honest with you, I don’t have a profession.

I’m 31 years old and I don’t have a profession. That’s worrying to me. REALLY worrying!

You all know my story by now, sorry if you’re just joining me, (“To Louise, from Louise” and “Follow your Heart? Follow your Head?” will give you some background to my life.) but basically, I did my senior year of high school and college in the USA, studied sociology and psychology, played basketball, got injured, moved back to the UK, coached Physical Education in primary schools for a few years, loved it, started moving around with Mark, worked as a classroom assistant in an international school, did a little nanny work, took another course through the Open University in Working with Children and Young People then had my daughter. That’s it. My adult life in a sentence.
I’ve been blogging now for 4 months so I’m thinking about doing a course in writing but worry that I’m just floating around with no purpose.
I think about everyone I went to school with and my group of friends and see them in successful careers, with job security, homes, married, some with kids. With purpose. So many people my age have a career.
I’m not there yet and to be honest, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. I want to work with young people, be a social worker, a youth worker, a counsellor, something along those lines, but I keep thinking maybe that ship has sailed. Or has it? I mean, I still think I could be a professional basketball player!!
Though I’m happy with how my life has turned out thus far, I did think at age 31, I would have a career of some sort.
Is anyone out there in the same boat as I am? Is 31 too late to start a new profession, or in my case, start thinking about my only profession?!
I’m really interested in your thoughts here….or advice!?

(image)

9 thoughts on “Hi, I’m Louise and I am a ??

  1. I have to say Louise when I saw a while ago that you had started writing a blog I never really gave it a second thought – nothing bad, nothing good. But have read a few of them when I see them pop up on my news feed on facebook and you actually get me thinking about things.

    I’m happy in what I’ve done with my life and despite all this like you – there are times when you always think about different things – missed opportunities; what might have been. I never thought the job I’m doing is what I’d be doing, though its not a million miles away from the direction I was headed.

    I was actually speaking to someone yesterday who had asked me if I would consider going away and working somewhere like Ibiza – that person is somewhat younger than me and unfortunately I found myself having to instantly dismiss this consideration as I have a ‘career’ or at least something which I have dedicated an amnount of time to which if I left and went away on a summer work placement / jolly / holiday / life experience; call it what you will. I think I would then find it hard to get back to getting to the place I am in my ‘career’.

    I’ve hardly seen anywhere of the world – I do get to travel around the UK but come one it can hardly be seen as ‘travelling’. I’ve always though that travelling the world is something I would have loved to have done but only realised to late. Would I consider travelling the world yes but I dont think I’m the kind of person who could drop everything all of a sudden which can be a good thing but at the same time can hold you back. I suppose you’re always going to do what you’re always going to do unless your individual circumnstance change to allow you to do otherwise – everyone has their own factors built in.

    For you to think about not having a ‘career’ or not knowing what you want to do. You seem to have achieved so many things other people want to have done without the need to plan it out in a certain path, and it seems to have served you well so far.

    Maybe you dont need that dedicated to path to show what you want to do and you’ll somehow find it anyway.

    God how very philosophical – must be all this Scottish highlands fresh air…….

    • Stephen, thanks a lot for posting a reply, I’m glad some of the post I write get the old brain working! Hopefully the road less travelled will lead me to an eventual career…i’ll be sure to keep you posted!

      Thanks, Louise xo

  2. “Don’t feel guilty if you don’t know what you want to do with your life. The most interesting people I know didn’t know at 22 what they wanted to do with their lives; some of the most interesting 40 year olds I know still don’t. “
    Lyrics to “Everybody is free to wear sunscreen”
    by Baz Luhrman

    Avril x x x (left school aged 16, started uni aged 29, Now 41 and finally have a job I love)

  3. A parent wrote this to me only last week about me going to work in Abu Dhabi, and I think it applies to you also Louise.

    “ Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didnt do than by the ones you did. So throw off the old bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.“

    You are already doing this. I agree with my brother ( which may not be often!), you have already achieved so much already, and are continuing to do so. You are exploring. Dreaming. Discovering.

    One final thought for you Louise……

  4. i’m in the same boat and i thought i was the only one in my 30s with no successful career, but apparently there are a few of us still drifting until we land where we want to be, but hey, at least you are enjoying the ride.

  5. It makes me a little bit sad reading your blog Louise not in the sense that I’ll bawl crying any minute but in the sense that I keep meeting people our age that think it’s too late to start again. Put yourself in this position… A friend comes to you and says they have broken up with someone after a long-term relationship and they are 31. They can’t see themselves meeting anybody else… Your advice? A friend wants to have a baby but is having trouble. In their mind time is running out. They are 31… Your advice? Another friend is bored with their job… Too old to move, again 31 and I ask your advice to them??? I have so many friends that like you have had an amazing life thus far! You have sooooo many little triumphs, Mia obviously being top of that pile. I have two friends in particular that went back studied again and are now primary school teachers in their thirties. You are however old you feel in your mind and I leave you on this… It’s never too late especially when you are as young as 31 xx

  6. I’m in my late 40s and have been through a few “careers” and situations. There is no right way to go through life. We all have our path and our stories, and each one is valid. Glad I came across yours.

    • Thank you Rosie for your comment. Since publishing this post a lot of people have given me a lot of food for thought. I’m coming round to the idea that its OK for me to not have everything in my life figured out yet, it’ll all fall into place eventually. Just like you say, I have some wonderful stories I’ve gathered along the way, that are much more meaningful to me than the career part of my journey.
      Thanks again for confirming these thoughts.

      Come back again soon.
      Louise xo

  7. Pingback: Absent | Comin' Home Soon

Leave a Reply

