Little Miss / Me / Our Life Now / Parenting

When I grow up…

Every time I look at my daughter, or my little nephew, I get excited about the possibility and potential they hold. I know Little Miss is only 2 (almost 3) and its a long way off before she has to think about all of this, but the world really is her oyster. Will she be a doctor, an astronaut, a soldier, an athlete, (basketball of course!) will she be a teacher, a photographer, a journalist, an artist, musician…the opportunities are endless. I look at her and know she has no idea what lies ahead.  

When I was younger I wanted to be a veterinarian, I loved being outside and being active so working on a farm would have been heaven for me. Its no surprise when I moved to Iowa I loved it, spending time with pigs and cows and acres of farmland was a dream come true. Its too bad now, I’m allergic to everything, the closest I get to a farm these days is heading to the park with Little Miss and jumping in puddles.

What did you want to be when you were younger? Did you follow your childhood dreams and achieve them?

7 thoughts on “When I grow up…

  1. Believe it or not I wanted to be a librarian. I didn’t think it was right to pay a fine if your books were late. I think I could be a librarian I love to read.

  2. I wanted to be a chef in the navy! Until I found out I get dreadfully seasick then thought about primary teaching. I had a talent at school in the sciences (plus a lot of family pressure) so plumped for that at uni, but as had no real enjoyment there i ended up chucking it. I still love cooking and watch things like masterchef with awe but I’m in my 30s with a mortgage now. So it is one more thing to add to the “what if” list. Its been there a while but I have no plans to move it to the “never” list. After all, who knows 🙂

  3. Robert, for some reason I don’t see you as a primary teacher, though, you do sometimes still act like a child! 😉
    I love the idea of you being a Chef, but why in the navy? Cos you like to travel?
    Maybe once that mortgage is paid off you can do it….I mean, you’re almost done paying it right?? haha
    Thanks for the reply xo

  4. Pingback: Hi, I’m Louise and I am a ?? | Coming Home Soon

  5. Pingback: All Grown Up | Coming Home Soon

Leave a Reply

