Me / Random Ramblings

My Dilemma

 

 

I say things sometimes that hurt people’s feelings. I don’t mean to, sometimes I think something and the words just come out. I realize when its too late and the words have already escaped, I watch them as they float through the air into the persons ears, I watch the upset and hurt in the persons eyes and then watch the persons body language change. I don’t do it often and only when I feel its justified.
I’m quite brash and opinionated. I don’t know how not to be. I say what’s on my mind and sometimes people don’t like that. Some people don’t mind, they know what they are getting with me. I’m not a nasty person, although it may appear that way at times. Is there a difference between being outspoken and just being rude?

Is it better to say what’s on your mind, even if it risks upsetting someone? Do we have to be selective with who we are honest with? I’ve asked this before and will again, is honesty the best policy?

I don’t know what this post is about, just something on my mind.

 

6 thoughts on “My Dilemma

  1. No one is perfect, we all make mistakes. Everyone says things at one time or another that they wish they hadn’t or that doesn’t sit well with some people. You can’t live your life walking on egg shells though, just be yourself, you can’t please everyone all of the time.

    I think there’s a big difference between being outspoken and just being rude. I’d say its all about your mannerisms and recognizing what audience you are dealing with at the time but that’s just my opinion.

    There’s not a right or wrong answer to your question. We don’t see the world the way it actually IS, we see it the way we are, there will always be someone with a different point of view, that’s what makes us humans so interesting. Would you have it any other way?

    /PG.

  2. I have the same problem. Tough isn’t it? I guess I will just have to pause before I speak, especially when I know I’m going to burst… Tough. But possible 🙂

  3. Pingback: Problem Solved, Thanks Universe! « Coming Home Soon

  4. I love Glissov’s response.

    I can totally relate to what you are saying Louise, I think its a bit of a Mcphee trait.

    Graham possesses:
    An ability NOT to respond to everything he disagrees with.
    For him it’s easy, In fact he’d probably say it was easier than going against the grain, and perhaps being “confrontational”.

    I would love to possess a little more diplomacy. I joke with Graham about me being a little bit Tourettes, “sometimes the words just come out”

    As Glissov said we all make mistakes.
    However, I feel we must takes reposibility for them, learn from them.
    Sometimes it is good keep your thoughts to yourself, whilst other occassions do call for the blunt truth.

    We can but try.

    x x x

Leave a Reply

