In the beginning / Me / Our Life Now

Good in Goodbye.

My best friend just gave me a copy of the new Carrie Underwood album, Blown Away, its amazing. (I’m not sure if anyone knew BUT I’m a BIG fan of country music, haha, did I mention that before?)

The whole album is pretty great but there’s a few songs that really hit home for me, one in particular called “Good in Goodbye”.

“Good In Goodbye”

I heard you laughing in a crowd outside a restaurant we used to go to
I caught a glimpse that stopped me in my tracks
It took me back
You looked happy with that little girl on your shoulders, happy
I know where she got those crystal eyes of blue
Time’s been sweet to you

As bad as it was, as bad as it hurt
I thank God I didn’t get what I thought that I deserved
Sometimes life leads you down a different road
When you’re holding on to someone that you gotta let go
Someday you’ll see the reason why
Sometimes, yeah sometimes, there’s good in goodbye

I don’t regret it
The time we had together
I won’t forget it
But we both ended up where we belong
I guess goodbye made us strong
And yeah I’m happy
I found somebody too who makes me happy
And I knew one day I’ll see you on the street
And it’d be bittersweet

As bad as it was, as bad as it hurt
I thank God I didn’t get what I thought that I deserved
Sometimes life leads you down a different road
When you’re holding on to someone that you gotta let go
Someday you’ll see the reason why
Sometimes, yeah sometimes, there’s good in goodbye.

-Carrie Underwood

Now, I’ve been in a few relationships over the years, some better than others. I thought I was in love a few times, looking back now I know I loved, I genuinely did, but there was always something in my mind telling me this wasn’t it, after a while, little doubts crept in OR a friend smacked me in the face and woke me up to a crappy relationship. (not literally smacked me…)

I’m an all in kinda girl, I want to love with all my heart, deep and intense. I believe in love, romance, and I believed there was one guy out there for me. Its kind of niave of me but thats just me…I can’t change who I am.

I knew early on with Mark that what we had was different (how/where we met, our friendship, dating, etc) and I’m sure everyone knows how much I love this guy, there isn’t a day goes by that I dont thank my lucky stars that our paths crossed when they did. It could have been so different for us if we didnt make the choices in our own lives when we did.

Some people stay in relationships that they know they arent happy in, they struggle daily to love when they know there’s just something that isnt there.  I have so much admiration for people who find the strength to walk away from a relationship, after years of trying to make things work, and try to find happiness for themselves, even if it means short term unhappiness for more people than just themselves.

I know my decision to walk away from someone who loved every part of me, someone who would do anything for me, was the best decision I ever made. (I’ve made a lot of bad decisions too!) But from that decision I was then able to move on and meet the man I am going to spend the rest of my life with, the man who has given me my beautiful daughter, the man who is an amazing father, an amazing man who is the one man out there for me. Some people don’t ever find that, they never accept they were wrong and and move on because they are so afraid they will hurt the other person, without seeing that STAYING without love is so much more hurtful to everyone.

I think about what happened with my previous relationship and wonder if its ever possible to be friends with someone you once loved? I’m in contact with a couple of ex’s but not the one I almost agreed to spend the rest of my life with? For some people its possible but for others there’s too much water under the bridge, too much hurt. I often wonder where he is now and hope he has found someone who loves him the way he deserves to be loved, loves him the way I couldn’t. I know for me, it wasnt a case of the wrong place, wrong time, it really was the wrong person…and it wasnt his fault.

After years of being apart is it possible to reconnect with an old love? Is it worth it or better left alone?

How difficult have you found walking away? Can you be friends with an old flame??

What are your thoughts, really interested to hear from you?

xo

4 thoughts on “Good in Goodbye.

  1. WOW can open, worms everywhere! lol

    i think it all depends on the person, whether or not you, or they can handle being still in touch. Also there will be people that you just don’t want to keep in touch with, or don’t want to think about. As a proud ‘walker awayer’ i find that sometimes no contact is for the best all round. It can be too painful for both you and any future partner. But as i say every case is individual, and i am a total advocate for staying friends, as long as it works for both of you.

    xx

  2. An X from many moons ago, Tony Kiely, attended my 40th birthday celebrations at the hundred club. I was really pleased he turned up and it was good to see him.
    I think Tony sees me much the same way as I see him. we’re both very different people and I find it differcult to imagine that we where ever a couple. Having said that at the time I am sure we were very much in love.
    I think that the good friendship that developed between Michelle and I (Tony’s new girlfriend at the time) helped me to see Tony, not as my X but as Michelles partner.

    The first time I kissed Graham He said, “you’re the one”
    later I told my mum, “He is the one”
    I didn’t say it to Graham for quite a while… I was playing it cool

  3. Oh McG sometimes I think you write your blog to me. I don’t know where to picture you typing now so we are both at your table in Avignon when I picture your blog. I loved this blog. I think it depends on the people involved, the type of relationship it was and the break up. I think ALL break ups are hard if people care about eachother. Its life, its bumpy. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Some people are meant to be friends and some people aren’t. Thank you for being my friend. And for blogging all the time. I miss you. Love to M&M

Leave a Reply

