In the beginning / Me / Our Life Now

She can play…


Today Little Miss and I went to work with Mark.
After Mark and his teammates “played” a warm up game of basketball, he took Little Miss with him to the weight room for an hour.
I had the gym to myself.
Me, a Basketball, a Hoop. HEAVEN.
Its been a long time since I’ve spent time alone in the gym. When I was in high school I used to go to the gym to practice at 7am, after school, I stayed there til 10pm, practicing.

Sometimes I would turn off the lights in the gym, leave a few on, stand on the free throw line and shoot. (for all the good it did, I was terrible at free throws, still am!!)

I loved being there by myself, this was my heaven. Where I found peace. Where I was most comfortable. Where I was me.
I’ve written before about my basketball career so I wont bore you all again but I will say that today I found some peace again. As I practiced in the gym by myself I felt like I was getting myself back a little. I could feel the game coming back to me.

My basketball career ended so abruptly, it was over with one question, one decision, one answer, one bad choice.

Today I felt like I was 18 again, for the first time in a long time I felt like I was capable of achieving anything.
I don’t know where I go from here…but I do know I need to really sit down and think about it. Maybe I have some unfinished business with this game? Maybe I’m not quite done yet?

Maybe my body isn’t capable of doing what it once did, but right now, I don’t think I’ve really ever given it a chance…
Maybe these feelings I have are just wishes and regrets? I don’t know.

Have you ever had a feeling that somethings not quite over? What did you do? Do you ever get that “what if” feeling in your stomach? Did you act on it?

4 thoughts on “She can play…

  1. Pingback: Hi, I’m Louise and I am a ?? | Coming Home Soon

  2. Pingback: What the Future Holds | Coming Home Soon

  3. As a former player I can tell you L, you will always feel like there is unfinished business. MJ is a case in point, how many times did he come out of retirement? If you truly love the game yes you will feel that way.

    It’s all about finding something that fills that void, family, helping others, helping yourself, travelling, whatever it may be – that is key. All the best with however you get on with this.

  4. Pingback: Ok, I’m competitive! | Coming Home Soon

Leave a Reply

