Me / Our Life Now

Good?

“Despite everything, I believe that people are really good at heart.”

– Anne Frank

Am I a good person?

I’ve been pondering this question for quite some time now and when my cousin commented on my “Honesty is the best policy” blog the other day that she also wonders if she is, it got me thinking, how do you know? How do you judge it? Who judges it? Your peers, your family, your friends, society?? Is it judged by how many friends you have, the good deeds you do? How much money you give to charity? How you feel about yourself? Is it determined by how many people you’ve hurt in your lifetime? How many people you’ve been hurt by and forgiven?Is it based on how much you love God? Do we all want to be good, or is being ok enough? Do some people just not care…and just “BE”?

Do you agree with Anne Frank, that everyone is good at heart?

Too many questions, not enough answers in my mind for this one…..

6 thoughts on “Good?

  1. I do agree with that sentiment – everyone is good at heart, its fear that brings up the questions. Don’t harshly judge yourself, being ok (with yourself) is good enough! Of course it is. It’s never about anyone else πŸ™‚

    Here’s something I read recently that made me think and realise why certain things haven’t worked the way I thought they would….

    “My primary relationship is with myself–all others are mirrors of it.
    As I learn to love myself, I automatically receive the love and appreciation
    that I desire from others. If I am committed to myself and to living
    my truth, I will attract others with equal commitment. My willingness
    to be intimate with my own deep feelings creates the space for intimacy
    with another. As I learn to love myself, I receive the love I desire from others.”

    Shakti Gawain

    πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for your comment, πŸ™‚
      I like this quote, for me it works but there are a few things it flags up….what if you dont know “your truth”? I’m not sure everyone does…is anyone really so sure of where they are in life, who they are??
      Man is not an island, (or something like that) I cant simply worry about myself. Some people continue to do good and continue to attract the wrong types of people to their lives. Is that their fault?
      I agree that everyone should learn to love themselves but is that enough??

      xo

  2. A few years ago, I did some volunteer work, befriending young mums that for one reason or another were struggling.
    As volunteers, before we were let loose in the community we had to complete a short course that covered councilling and diversity etc.
    Rather naively i expected my fellow prospective volunteers to be calm, gentle, caring types.
    As we all got to know one another, I was surprised when we were confronted with contraversial questions such as child disapline, our views really differed and consequently my ideas about their “calm and gentle” natures were challenged.
    I am in no doubt that these people had/have good intentions, but to my mind thats not enough.
    Some behavour, actions or words have consequence.
    I too, enjoyed the shakti Gawain quote, however alas I think we’re all a bit more complicated than that.

  3. You’re getting all philosophical these days – I like i! I guess I’m not really sure there are good and bad people just people that are capable of doing both good and bad things. I guess I believe on some level that everyone deep down inside is capable of bringing out the best in themselves and learning to deal with the worst. Of course the reverse is also true, unfortunately. The Anne Frank quote serves as a bit of inspiration to me not to give up on anyone. Given what she lived through and the horrible actions of the people that put her in that position, if she can believe that people are inherently good, than anything is possible.

  4. What a wonderful post. I agree mostly with Sarah, I don’t believe people are good or bad, I think that comes from watching Disney movies, it’s like we expect a person to fall on one side or other but people are much more complicated than that. I think people are neither good nor bad, but the actions they commit are. And I think when it comes to deciding what actions are good or bad it really comes down to being part of the human race and either helping or hurting, if you always put yourself first then you are only helping one person- how can that really help as a human? but if you always try to help and support people then your life has repercussions beyond yourself. I think that’s what constitutes a ‘good’ action. And if you just try to do good as much as possible then that’s all that matters. ‘No intelligent man believes that anybody ever willingly errs or willingly does base and evil deeds; they are well aware that all who do base and evil things do them unwillingly.’-Protagoras 430 BC (sorry for the wall of text)

    • Yeah, I think I agree with you both, (sorry for just replying now, no idea why I hadnt til now!) people arent really good or bad, its more complicated that that, their actions and circumstances cause them to act in ways that might be percieved as good or bad at that time.
      Thanks for your comment, and sorry again for the late reply!
      xo

Leave a Reply

