Me / Music

The Soundtrack for my Life!

Ok, so my taste in music is ridiculously eclectic, some people think, just ridiculous!

Some people who know me may say I’m a rap/R&B kinda girl, some would say that I’m country through and through, some would maybe even say I love a bit of Brit pop. Well truth be told, I’m all of the above.
From Eve to Celine, Foo Fighters to Rascal Flatts, I love it all.

Its all about the words. Always about the words.
Most of these songs I relate to very specific moments in my life, I can remember where I was, how I felt, everything about the moment when I heard the song the clearest, when it resonated to my core and touched my soul. Is that weird?

Here they are, see how many you recognize?

Iris – Goo Goo dolls
Feels like Home -Chantal Kreviazuk
Champagne Supernova – Oasis
Song Cry- Jay Z
Turn your Lights Down Low – Lauryn Hill and Damien Marley
Birds – Kate Nash
Time of your life – Green Day
Follow you Down – Gin Blossoms
U got it Bad – Usher
Hometown – Adele
Don’t change – Musiq Soulchild
Burn – Usher
A Woman’s Work – Maxwell
Bless the Broken Road – Rascal Flatts
Remind me – Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley
Always – Bon Jovi
Insomnia _ Faithless
The River – Garth Brooks
The Jump Off – Lil’ Kim
Summertime – Kenny Chesney
Someone like you – Adele
I hope You Dance – Leeann Womack
We own the night – Lady Antebellum
Changes – Tupac
Back that Ass up – Juvenile
Peaches and Cream – 112
“Spirit” (whole album) – Jewel
No Tomorrow – Orson
Step by Step – Whitney Houston
Whatever People say I am, That’s what I Am (whole album) – Arctic Monkeys
We Found Love – Rhianna
Naive – The Kooks
Crazy Sexy Cool (whole album) – TLC
Dreaming of You – Celine Dion
Scorpion (whole album) – Eve
Rise – Gabrielle
Still Holding out for You – SheDaisy
Chelsea Dagger – The Fratellis
The Girl – City and Colour
Worlds Greatest – R Kelly
Cowboy Take me Away – Dixie Chicks
Por Que tu m’aimes encore – Celine Dion
The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill (whole album) – Lauryn Hill
How you gonna act like that – Tyrese
Out of Reach – Gabrielle
Put that woman First – Jaheim
Never Forget – Take That
Jagged Little Pill (whole album) – Alanis Morrisette
I missed you – Lisa Loeb
The Best – Foo Fighters

What are some of the songs that define your life? What are your favourite memories connected to your songs?
Were there some of mine you haven’t heard in a while? Go on, have a listen now!

Louise xo

8 thoughts on “The Soundtrack for my Life!

  1. Bless The Broken Road was our wedding song. It has such meaning for us! Right now I like Fly Over States by Jason Aldean but you really can’t understand the meaning unless you’ve lived in Iowa! Love your list! I’d really have to dig deep to come up with my list! I have gone through so many phases in my short life!

    • I love Fly Over States…and remember I’m an Iowan at heart! 🙂
      Brooke, I had to dig real deep, this list of songs has taken me months to put together. (I wish I could have come up with them off the top of my head!)
      I always remember “I Need a Girl” by Puff Daddy from our college days. I still have the CD you made for me!! In fact, its pretty scratched up but I had a listen last time I was home. I also remember “Fishin in the Dark” haha. that’s how crazy your music taste is when you’ve lived in Iowa!!

      Louise xo

  2. Pingback: What’s in a song? | Coming Home Soon

  3. Pingback: What’s in a song? | Coming Home Soon

Leave a Reply

